coolingsclassicblog
Just another WordPress.com site

Dartfish

Over the last week I have been trying to familiarize myself with the Dartfish sports analysis program. I decided to use the technology to analyse the girls football team that I coach whilst they performed a penalty kick. I was able to look at the group as a whole, cut the video to focus on individuals and use split screen so I could view two students kicking the ball at the same time.  Some of the functions also allowed me to slow the clip down so I could focus on the fine motor skills. The final product is better than I expected as I can email this to the students where they can comment and analyse their own and others performance.

6 Responses to “Dartfish”

  1. Sounds cool. Would like to get someone to do something similar with my golf swing alongside a pro – like Ernie Els. Although it might be a little too disheartening to watch his effortless transfer of weight compared to my flailing of arms, wrists and legs…..

  2. This is going to be a fantastic resource when coaching Track and Field in the summer.

  3. Take a look at this hillmanp, might be just what you are looking for.

  4. Apps like this do make me miss the HS PE. There is not much need for dartfish to compare kindergarten kids keeping balloons up in the air.

  5. I am amazed at the tech applications now available for Physical Education to help teachers analyse the physical performance of their students and be able to give feedback– a far cry from the good old days, indeed!

  6. […] Throughout the duration of the course I have learnt a lot about the different types of technology that can be used throughout PE. Blogging has been part of the school program for the past 2 years and been good to get information to the students about course material, assessments and feedback from different modules. Being interested in the Dartfish sports analysis program I found this course to be a great way of exploring it more as it formed part of one of the assessments. Here I enjoyed putting together a screen cast so that other people could refer to it and gain an idea of how the program works. I used this whilst I was coaching my girls JV football team to give accurate video feedback to students on their shooting performance Dartfish […]


Leave a Reply

