coolingsclassicblog
Just another WordPress.com site

Reflection

Throughout the duration of the course I have learnt a lot about the different types of technology that can be used throughout PE. Blogging has been part of the school program for the past 2 years and been good to get information to the students about course material, assessments and feedback from different modules. Being interested in the Dartfish sports analysis program I found this
course to be a great way of exploring it more as it formed part of one of the assessments. Here I enjoyed putting together a screen cast so that other people could refer to it and gain an idea of how the program works. I used this whilst I was coaching my girls JV football team to give accurate video feedback to students on their shooting performance Dartfish

This allowed me break the skill and technique down so we could see the fine motor skills. It also allowed me to email the finished product to the students where I required them to analyse their own performance and give feedback on their findings.

With the introduction of IB Sports, Exercise and Health Science next year I feel that I’m becoming familiar with the program and what it can do, also I feel relatively confident in putting together a screen cast that will be a great learning tool for the students next year. The benefits of the screen cast are that there is that personal connection between video and speaking, the information can easily be distributed through blogs and other webpages.

One of the best things that we have completed on the course was the WIKI regarding PE Apps WIKI Apps

Here I feel that as a group we produced some very good Apps that can be used in and throughout PE. This can also be distributed across the department so each App can be tried and tested for its benefits. We are also currently in the process of getting Ipads for the PE department to use. This will not only benefit the teacher but students also have access to the different apps, for example
Anatomy and Physiology – students here can use the app to revise for a quiz:  A & P App

Our WIKI has also been posted on twitter where it is being followed by other users who are interested in what we are posting. One of the reason we started this was when we heard about Mr Robbo “The PE Geek”  who has recently produced a PE App for Apps.

I would go as far as saying that I learnt more from this course than first imagined. I like some of the ideas about technology in
classrooms as I can easily apply this to PE. One thing that I am interested to research and discover more about is web conferencing. I think that this could be a valuable tool when teaching IB next year as you can share teaching ideas with other groups/schools across the world at nearly real-time.  Applications for web conferencing include meetings, training events, lectures, or short presentations from any computer.

2 Responses to “Reflection”

  1. I totally agree with your sentiments here Mark. I do envisage that we will use a lot of technology in the IB course next August, but also feel that we will incorporate iPads and Apps more and more as time goes on to encourage kids to evaluate and give feedback on a more regular basis.

  2. I think it has been great exploring new applications for IT as a department. I think we are more likely to use and share since we have all been in this together.


Leave a Reply

